No Complaints + Haricots Verts

28 Feb

{Scroll down for Tuna Noodle Salad recipe!}

I’m going to take a moment to talk about what I’ve given up for Lent.

Complaining.

And no, this post is not intended to be a complaint about the fact that I can’t complain. I am STATING a challenge — not complaining about it 😉

I wouldn’t go on record and say that I am a huge complainer, but I will also be the first to admit that I do indulge in the occasional whine-fest at work or with friends. These are always the most pointless comments anyway. “Ugghh I’m so [tired/hungry/sick of waiting for an elevator].” “Uggghh I don’t want to [work out/go to work/be a real person/do anything except watch Teen Mom on my couch].” “Uggghh why isn’t it [Friday/the weekend/summer/the 90’s].”

You get the picture. Wasn’t that painful to just read?

So I’ve given up complaining. You might ask yourself: Isn’t it kind of hard to distinguish a complaint from stating an actual issue or seeking advice? In which case, your question would be well-founded. It is not easy. So here’s how I distinguish a complaint.

A complaint is any comment that can be defined as

  • Pointless
  • Negative
  • Not productive or counter-productive

If I find my words coming out of my mouth that fall in 2 or more of those categories, that is officially a complaint. For example, I might say, “I think Lauren Conrad and I would make great friends.” That statement is not a complaint, though it happens to be quite pointless. So 2 or more is the rule.

Still, sometimes I have a problem that I will want to talk about, and I have to find a way to make it non-complaint-like. Which is not the easiest, but at the same time, does force me to take a more positive spin and actually look for a solution instead of carrying on about said problem.

Maybe I should have just given up dessert?

**

Ok, moving on. Thought I would share with you guys a snappy, simple recipe, as well as a new discovery.

After a weekend of dining out, I was really excited to eat simple and wholesome kitchen creations this week.

I decided to roll with an easy, tasty-looking recipe from Cynthia Sass’s S.A.S.S. Yourself Thin (Formerly known as Cinch!) If you happen to be at all familiar with my previous blog, you know I swear by much of Cynthia’s philosophy, which revolves around incorporating 5 basic puzzle pieces into each meal.

As I was shopping for ingredients, I found this curious new friend:

Not your average green bean

After asking the obvious question, “What the hell are Haricots Verts?”, I snatched these up and used them in my recipe. If you’re not familiar, they are thinner, really crunchy and a little sweeter than regular green beans, who aren’t really friends with my taste buds. Apparently “Haricot Vert” is just French for “green bean”.

I think they really might be the same thing … don’t tell my taste buds.

Tuna Noodle Salad

{Adapted from Cynthia Sass}

Quick, filling & sure to get you back on track

 Serves 2

1 C. whole wheat penne, cooked
1 can tuna (packed in water, no salt added)
2 C. Haricots Verts (!!!)
1/2 onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2/3 C. sliced mushrooms
2/3 C. low sodium vegetable broth
2 T chopped walnuts
1 t Italian Seasoning

Begin by briefly sauteing onion & garlic in a skillet. Add mushrooms, beans and vegetable broth until onions are tender and fragrant.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and spray an 8×8 baking dish. Add penne, tuna & vegetables from the skillet; mix well. Fold in Italian seasoning, sprinkle nuts over the top, cover with aluminum foil and bake 10-12 minutes.

Voila! Truthfully, this is such a wholesome meal, but I think it could have used a pinch more flavor… Nothing a little sriracha sauce couldn’t fix!

Did you notice I found a solution instead of complaining? 🙂

Leave a Reply

