Pancake Brain

29 Feb

{Scroll down for Choco-Berry Protein Pancake recipe!}

Did you know that yesterday was National Pancake Day?

that's a lot of pancakes

pin 

Apparently my brain knew it too, because I had a bizarro day.

pin

Like … Ditzland type day.

pin

I don’t know if I had my head in the clouds with excitement over the launch of this blog, or if my cells were too busy fantasizing about flapjacks, but either way, some weird things went down. Observe.

First, I started my morning with an insane tooth pain. It was literally wrecking the right side of my face with throbbing awfulness. Luckily I had already made a dentist appointment for this Friday because I nicked a tooth last weekend (long story… sigh), but then this molar pain set in.

Tried everything. Aspirin. Orajel. Holding my breath (?). At one point I reached up the side of my face…

And felt my headband crushing into my skull. I moved it and… you guessed it. Pain gone. I hope someone gets a good laugh out of my headband’s nerve-crushing powers, because I found it pathetic yet hilarious.

Moving on … to celebrate a day that honors wonderful fluffy breakfast cakes, I knew I only had one choice for my evening.

BREAKFAST FOR DINNER!

Things started innocently enough.

Never too late for breakfast.

 Cooked up a peppery egg white omelet stuffed with a whopping handful of spinach, some shrooms, and ~1/4 C lite shredded cheese.

But I had to make some ‘cakes to go with it. I have never been much of a pancake expert – I’d prefer to be my dad’s taste tester. So why I thought it might be a good idea to whip up my own pancake creation on a whim, welp, frankly I’m not quite sure.

First off, I thought I would get cute and use my baby egg skillet to make baby cakelettes.

it's just a little guy!

I had a strugglefest when it came time to flip, and aside from having to force my dinner into a shape that resembled pancakes, I was also far too excited to eat them and left an empty skillet on a stove that was still on. Soon I had a smoking empty skillet and the apartment smelt like fire.

Pancake FAIL.

But, I didn’t burn the house down, my skillet survived the ordeal, AND the cakes actually tasted pretty awesome!

I’ll share the recipe with y’all, but I might have to go back and make some tweaks. I plan to have Pancake Part 2 this weekend to test the recipe. Hey, that just means more pancakes for me & JC 🙂

Choco-Berry Protein Pancakes

I spy ... very misshapen pancakes.

That's more like it!

Makes 1-3 cakes

1.5 scoops chocolate protein powder
1/4 C. rolled oats
2 TBSP whole wheat flour
1/4 C. berry applesauce (be sure to buy the naturally sweetened variety with no added sugar – mine came from Trader Joe’s and was sweetened with fruit juice)
1 egg white
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp raspberry extract (optional but AWESOME)
pinch pumpkin pie spice OR cinnamon

Mix in bowl. Heat a well-sprayed skillet over medium-low heat. Make better pancake shapes than I know how to.

I drizzled mine with a little honey, a dollop of peanut butter and a squirt of fat free whipped topping.

Because why not? It’s breakfast for dinner.

One Response to “Pancake Brain”

  1. Susan February 29, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Just what I needed to read–I had to pay at weight watchers today because I was 4 pounds over my lifetime goal weight. Ugh. I’ve been “feeding a cold” for the last two weeks. So March is my month to get back on track and ready for spring and the weddings. I also took a walk outside today instead of going to the gym–a little windy, but I just wore a t shirt. Love the name upbeat eats and the recipes look great. I made the oatmeal muffins last week and they are in the freezer. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

