Two in One

14 Mar

{Scroll down for Mexican Zucchini Boats recipe!}

If you’re tired of beautiful weather talk, I’m sorry, because I just can’t help myself.

Dear March: I like your new look. Please don’t change a thing.

In honor of the delightful weather, I ended up making not one but TWO stops to the champagne of grocery stores, Mariano’s.

If you live in Chicago and are not familiar with this gem, please race to one of their locations, stat. Their River East location is right next to my office and a nice little walk in the sunshine. With two enormous levels of groceries and fresh produce, a sushi bar and some guy playing the baby grand piano at lunch time, this place can’t be beat.

Trip #1 today featured a stop at aforementioned sushi bar:

Rainbow maki with brown rice. I love that they will make custom rolls for customers should the customer not find anything in the pre-made case to his/her liking.

And trip #2 was post-work, since I needed to pick up some things to prepare dinner/breakfast/snacks for my girlfriends who will start trickling in for my bachelorette party tomorrow & Thursday (!!!!)

A very important piece of the loot:

Oh yeah, I went there – corned beef, baby. Notice my St. Patrick’s Day flowers – meat & flowers, a winning combo.

I’ll be cooking up that bad boy with some cabbage and other veggies in the slow cooker for Thursday evening. I’ll let you guys know how it turns out and share the recipe in time for Saturday if it’s tasty 🙂

In an effort to stick with my eat something green idea for March, and in keeping with Monday’s Lean Green Quinoa smoothie,  I plan on rounding out the week with green and/or St. Patrick’s Day-ish recipes.  Are you excited?! I know I am. Three cheers for green thangs!

Mexican Zucchini Boats

This creation was crafted this past Sunday. I wanted to knock JC’s socks off the night before he returned to a week of instant brown rice and baked potatoes since he travels for work {just kidding John}.

I think I succeeded.

This dish is comprised of simple and whole foods, yet it tastes seriously sinful. Also if you’re anything like us, you’ll carry on with boating references throughout the course of your dinner. That’s a win in this household.

Create your own fleet!

{Serves 2-3}

4-6 small/medium-sized Zucchinis
6 oz chorizo or ground turkey
1 red onion
4 cloves garlic
2 TBSP taco seasoning
1 TBSP oregano
3/4 C. salsa
1 C. quinoa, cooked

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Slice the ends off your zucchinis, slice them in half lengthwise, and begin scooping out their insides with a spoon to create the boat. Make sure you are scooping over a nice big bowl to capture the tasty squash innards!

Arrange the boats on a baking sheet and drizzle some olive oil over them. Bake for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, start browning your meat in a large skillet, then add onions & garlic, sauteing until fragrant. Add taco seasoning, oregano, zucchini innards, quinoa & salsa to the skillet and mix until heated through.

When the timer dings, load up your boats – thar she blows!

I’m sorry, it’s just too hard to stop.

What’s the most fun-to-eat food you’ve enjoyed recently? Does anybody else find the word “zucchini” hard to spell after looking at it for more than 5 seconds?

One Response to “Two in One”

  1. shorabvi March 14, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    I shall go ahead.

Leave a Reply

