Recovering Bachelorette

19 Mar

I’m alive!!!

Friends, I seriously had the most unbelievable weekend ever. Sunny & 70 degrees+ all weekend? Check. Rental apartment in Lincoln Park for a Chicago staycation? Check. Incredible food? Check. The world’s BEST bridesmaids & friends? Check check check.

Please forgive me for not having Part 1 of my full recap prepped for your hungry eyes to feast upon, but I’ll admit I spent the majority of yesterday lounging around and feeling sad for myself for having to depart with my best friends, saying goodbye to this unreal weekend.

I promise to disclose all the deets and photos this week, but in the meantime, let me bribe you with this finger-lickin’ muffin recipe I devised for my ladies on Thursday evening.

Cheddar & Chorizo Muffins

1 C. whole wheat flour
1/2 C. melted butter
1/4 C. olive oil
3/4 C. almond milk
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 C. reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese
5 oz. chorizo
1 egg white

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a cupcake tray. Mix flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl; mix.

In a small bowl, mix the egg white, melted butter, oil and almond milk, then mix into the flour bowl. Stir in cheese and chorizo until well incorporated. Bake for 30 minutes and enjoy – they are best served nice and toasty! 🙂

Super easy and really tasty, these were a pretty big hit. The texture was more dense and filling than they were fluffy, but I liked them for the hearty breakfast breads that they were.

How was your St. Patrick’s Day? Unless you were lifted over a large Irish rugby player’s head, you probably didn’t have as much fun as I did. Sorry.

4 Responses to “Recovering Bachelorette”

  1. Mary March 19, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Wow… Those look delectable!!!

    • Steph March 19, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Thanks! They were a hit. 🙂

  2. Susan March 19, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    You look so cute and happy. I’m happy for you

    • Steph March 19, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Thank you!! It was a very happy time indeed.

Leave a Reply

