Bachelorette Update #1: Tapas & Trolleys

21 Mar

I know I promised, so here we go – my bachelorette party weekend, unveiled! (get it?)

It’s taken me a solid few days to dive back into a normal routine after looking forward to this event for SO long, and that includes blogging. But I’m back in the game with a normal routine, so don’t expect any disappearing acts from me anytime in the near future.

The weekend was so perfect on so many levels – best friends from out of town under one roof, time spent with both JC’s friends and just the ladies.

Friday marked the official “start” of the weekend, also known as St. Bachrick’s Day since we utilized St. Patrick’s Day weekend for our fodder (I have creative friends). BUT most of the ladies did make their appearances on Thursday evening.

How did that get in there?

The ladies blew my mind with generosity and creativity, and didn’t refrain from showering me with goodies and itinerary teasers to get me jazzed up for the weekend ahead. As though I wasn’t on the verge of exploding with excitement already.

Plus smashed (but amazeballz) cupcakes.

Friday morning, after brunch at my favorite local spot Wildberry Pancakes & Cafe, a significant chunk of the group headed to Arbre Nail Spa in the Lakeshore East neighborhood.

This place was a dream with its long line of cushy seats, Sex & The City marathons on all screens, and of course champagne. Even though Kate really couldn’t handle her tickly feet issues.

After our nail adventure, it was time to head to the apartment the girls arranged in the Lincoln Park neighborhood. I really loved that we had our own little weekend apartment even though I live in Chicago — it felt like a special trip, plus no trashing of my own digs 😉

After dolling up…

it was time to head to Cafe Ba Ba Reeba. Tapas for everyone! If you live in Chicago and haven’t been, go there. Now.

Members of the wedding party who were present met up at Ba Ba Reeba and passed around delicacies & drinks.

My highlights: white peach sangria, warm spinach & artichoke dip, goat cheese baked in tomato sauce, scallops with spaghetti squash & cranberry vinaigrette, chicken & ham croquetas.

Following dinner, it was time to cruise the city with our friends, out-of-towners and locals alike.

Activities included wishing passer-bys a Happy Friday, and crashing the McDonald’s bathroom.

brother & sister

Kelly, my maid of honor

We like each other.

wedding party (those who were present)

Group trolley rentals are a super popular activity for twenty somethings in Chicago {probably has something to do with the BYOB and beautiful city lights}. It’s such a great way to see the best parts of the city. Can’t recommend enough for visiting friends. And local friends who just can’t get enough of a mobile party.

PLUS it will let you off wherever your heart desires. And my heart desires the Hangge Uppe. We’ll leave it at that.

Night #1 was an absolute BLAST. When I woke up the next morning in our rental apartment fast asleep in my party dress, I knew it had been a great success 😉

How was day/night #2, aka St. Bachrick’s Day itself, you ask? Look for an update tomorrow!

What’s your favorite activity to enjoy with out-of-towners?

PS – Happy Birthday, Mom!!! ❤

2 Responses to “Bachelorette Update #1: Tapas & Trolleys”

  1. Mary March 21, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Great pics….and thanks for the b’day shout out 🙂

  2. Susan March 21, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Love all the pictures you have. Do I see a Shutterfly book?

Leave a Reply

