Midnight Hunger

23 Mar

Guess what I did last night?

Well, I guess technically it was today …

As I am sure you have already heard about 5 million times, The Hunger Games flick premieres (premiered?) today. I somehow found myself at the 12:01am showing last night/this morning/whatever.

And on a school night — I know.

Let me back up and explain how I got myself into this situation. I’d like to declare that I have never been one of those young adult fiction movie people who paints lightning bolts on my head and sits in a theater when normal people sleep. I have never seen a Harry Potter movie, and all I know is that Edward Cullen looks like a chia pet.

I’m not trying to be a brat about this. It’s just one of those things that I waited too long to do – I can’t all of a sudden hop on the bandwagon. It’s just like this one coworker of mine – he never signed himself up for Facebook, and now that he’s come this far, what would be the point of caving now?

Until. Until my good friend Brittani offered me an extra ticket to see The Hunger Games. She neglected to tell me this was a midnight rendezvous. But I went with it.

Hell, I even wore my hair in a side braid without even realizing Katniss & I were going to be rocking the same ‘do until 3am. Kindred spirits.

By the way, I did read the first book. But I have to say, I LOVED the movie. I screamed along with the 11-13 year olds who were dressed up as members of District 12. I cried like a hormonal teenager. It was all pretty embarrassing. And I don’t want to talk it up too much because my pals who read the book more recently kind of despised the movie, but I’ll go ahead and say it:

It was better than the book.

Plus, can we talk about Miley Cyrus’s main squeeze for a second?

source

Alright, we won’t talk about him – after all, I’ll be a married woman soon – instead, I’ll let that dreamy teeny bopper magnet speak for himself. { Don’t worry JC, you’re cuter 🙂 }

Since we have found ourselves talking about fantastical scenarios such as teeenagers chasing after other teenagers and hunting them like prey with bows and arrows, I think it’s only appropriate that I share a somewhat exotic recipe I promised I would share some time ago.

After my trip to Native Foods Cafe, I knew I had to find a way to copycat their Rockin’ Moroccan Bowl. The sweet yet spiced flavors inspired me to experiment with a cuisine totally foreign to me – I normally roll with my classic spice jar compadres. After some googling, I mix and matched a few recipes I found, thinking back to the exquisite stir fry Native Foods served me, and here’s what I came up with.

Hungry Moroccan Stir Fry

{Adapted from TLC Cooking – Serves 2}

4-6 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 medium onion, chopped
1/2 block firm tofu (6-8 oz), Cut into long, thick strips
1 medium-sized sweet potato, peeled & chopped
6 oz. low sodium vegetable broth
1/4 cup raisins
1 medium zucchini, cut in half and chopped lengthwise
1 C. water
1 C. cooked quinoa

Mix garlic, ginger, cumin and cinnamon in a small bowl.

Heat a large, sprayed skillet over high heat. Add onion and cook until tender. Add tofu; cook, 1 minute, without stirring. Turn tofu and cook 1 more minute. Add spices and cook until fragrant (about 30 seconds.) Stir in sweet potato, vegetable broth and raisins, and bring to a boil. Reduce  heat to low and simmer, covered, for 15 minutes (make sure sweet potato is tender.) Add zucchini and simmer 5 more minutes.

Serve over 1/2 C. quinoa per serving.

Hope you’ll give it a whirl!

Happy Friday, and may the odds be ever in your favor.

{I need a nap.}

Leave a Reply

