Prost!

26 Mar

Well hello! How was the weekend? This was kind of the theme over here…

I have to say, with the weather heating up and all that jazz, it’s a little bit harder to refrain from lots of play. That means hefeweizens for everybody!

Friday night, we headed to Chicago Brauhaus in the Lincoln Square neighborhood to celebrate the birthday of a non-German friend. While the food was nothing to write home about, the beer was flowing like wine and come on, they had the German version of Rod Stewart teaching us the moves to some crazy sing-alongs.

PLUS they had a real live boot!! Until JC broke it.

Fail. Kind-of silver lining — we got to take it home…?

While beer is arguably a food group, I knew Saturday morning I had some serious work ahead of me. I headed off to a dance class; I don’t normally dance Saturdays, but I found out my Tuesday night instructor was subbing. Twas an amazing decision, as I really had a good time dancing it out 🙂

There was a lot more eating taking place over the weekend …

Protein Bar. The love of my life. Above is the Vegan Superfood Salad, featuring their signature “Super 6” mix of lettuce, kale, spinach, broccoli & more. Tofu & chia dressing seal the deal for me!

Sears Sucker smoothie – egg protein, greek yogurt, almond milk & raspberries

And a companion/spectator

Sunday morning brought us a gorgeous Chicago day…

So why stop eating??

Wilberry Crunch Oatmeal, scrambled eggs + coffee at my favorite brunch spot, Wildberry Pancakes & Cafe. We are usual suspects over there, but you won’t find us there after 10am – place be swarming!

Worth the wait.

Soon after brunch we received word that some friends were out to play in Old Town. We decided that more fun could be justified by a 2-3 mile lakeshore run to our destination, and ditched grocery shopping and other chores in the process 🙂

Is that a hefeweizen?? I’m hopeless.

Speaking of Germans {again}, just when I thought my happytimes weekend was complete, I came home to find a had received a fun little award!

Katie of Creature of Habit passed the award along to me, and I couldn’t be more stoked! Not only was I very flattered by the award, but I now have a new blog to read 🙂 Thanks Katie!

The Liebster award, defined: This award we’ve discovered is given to bloggers who inspire you and have less than 200 followers. The Liebster Award takes its name from the German word meaning ‘Beloved, Dearest or Favorite.’

How sweet! And now here’s how it works …

  1. Link back to the person who gave it to you and thank them.
  2. Post the award to your blog.
  3. Give the award to 5 bloggers with less than 200 followers that you appreciate and value (It’s a great way to get to word out there about other blogs!!)
  4. Leave a comment on the 5 blogs to let them know that they have received this award.
Woohoo! So who are my favorites? I’d like to pass this award along to the following friends o’ mine. I think they each have less than 200 followers (I used google reader as a judge), so if I’m mistaken about any of you, please accept my apologies in exchange for my adoration of your work!

1. Design that Inspires – Blair is my real-life Chicago friend. She recently moved into our ‘hood from Dallas, and she works as a web designer. I always love her blog for visual inspiration – she’s seriously talented, AND she does magic blog design!

2. Pumped Pumpkin – I met Alexis through the Foodie Pen Pals program – she sent me some epic goodies that I can’t wait to blog about at the end of the month. Alexis has some amazing alternative eats suggestions, AND she just became betrothed … hooray for more blogger brides!

3. The Little Food Court Courtney’s blog follows her healthy living journey. I love reading her blog for running inspiration. I’m not a huge runner myself, but when I read about others who are tackling big things in the running world, it encourages me to get my butt in gear. She is also studying to become a health coach, which is a pursuit I want to take on in the future.

4. Brussels Sprouts for Breakfast Another real-life Chicago friend, Katie’s blog follows her culinary adventures and provides some serious inspiration. Her creations cause serious mouth watering, and I love that she also includes basics like pizza dough & homemade sauces. Check her out if you love cooking!

5. Chicago Girl Gone Mild Mel’s blog was one of the first I ever followed, way before I started blogging at Upbeat Eats. She captures Chicago living one day at a time, from fashion to food to her unfairly cute pup! Mel keeps it real and I love her sense of humor.

Those are my picks! Hope you’ll check ’em out. Thanks again Katie for the award!

Have a superb Monday 😉

3 Responses to “Prost!”

  1. John March 26, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Not the most flattering picture of me in my ND threads…need to get some Visine up in here

    • Steph March 26, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      You’re cute! ❤

  2. myculinaryquestblair March 26, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Well thanks Steph! I’ll be sure to pass it along in my post today!! I had fun Friday night! And might actually still be recovering… is that possible?

Leave a Reply

