Knew this day would come

27 Mar

It’s true. I knew it.

I already have a pre-existing issue with nut butter. I have been known to take down an entire jar in 1 week – which John was kind enough to inform me is the caloric equivalent of 7-8 Big Macs.

Months ago I started to see the legendary Trader Joe’s cookie nut butter rumors circulating around some of my daily reads. I think in reality I knew it was all over from here. Cautiously I would eye the Trader Joe’s aisle that houses the nut butters at my local store, and would breathe a little sigh of relief every time there was no cookie butter to be found.

But today was the day. I stood there holding it for a while before I gave in, knowing full well how terrible of a decision this was.

I could barely wait to get my jar home before I ripped the lid off to try it. As I fished a spoon out, I tried to tell myself it really wasn’t going to be that great. I took one bite, and then realized I was drooling into the jar. Literal drool.

I’m in deep trouble. I’ve already developed a plan of action for rationing this butter — but if I complain that my pants are snug in a week, remind me of this mistake ๐Ÿ˜‰

It’s pretty ironic that my original intentions for today’s post revolve around pushing the reset button after an off track couple of days or even couple of weeks. Yesterday I talked about how much fun I had flexing my beer muscles over the weekend, and now I’m drooling into jars of nut butter. I think I need these tips more than anyone ๐Ÿ™‚

Upbeat Eats’ 5 Steps to Reset

5. Drown yourself. I really need to focus on this one. Aiming for 8 cups a day, or 64 oz, can help wash away toxins, bloat, etc. An obvious, but often forgotten tip.

4. Get good sleep. I can’t tip my hat enough to a night’s worth of quality of z’s. Stack up a few good nights in a row — I’m talking 7-8 hours — set a routine, and the rest tends to fall in place. Less caffeine, less likely to reach for sugary snacks over healthy choices.

3. Sugar Ban. This one sounds scary and intimidating. After all, I’m the one talking about cookies & butter. But it’s easy to start small – ditch the candy & dessert, and instead stick to 1 piece of dark chocolate as a treat per day. You’ll be amazed at how much you don’t miss the processed stuff.

2. Be a whole wheat snob. When I’m looking to reset I cut back on starchy carbs in general, striving to enjoy just 1 or 2 per day.

Some non-starchy eats from yesteday:

Mini veggie omelet & coffee... I need to retire Mr. Snowman

grilled eggplant & zucchini alongside a lean dinner

When choosing to enjoy starchy carbs, it’s equally important to choose them wisely – only 100% whole grains will suffice when it comes to staying power, nutrients and banishing cravings.

1. Start smart. A fresh start begins with a week of meal planning and grocery shopping to help you commit. On top of that, skipping breakfast is not an option. There are plenty of ideas circulating the blogosphere to help kick start your day, but how about an easy, grab & go option without the starchy carb? Here’s my favorite light option.

Grab & Go Mini Veggie Quiches

1 C. egg whites
3/4 C. reduced fat shredded cheese
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1/2 C. onion, chopped
sriracha sauce (lots of it, if you’re like me!)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray down a muffin tray. Mix all ingredients in a bowl, then divide evenly among the muffin cups.

Bake for 20 minutes, then stash them in the fridge for a whole week of easy breakfasts! I eat 2 at a time with some low sodium vegetable juice.

What’s your favorite quick & easy breakfast when you’re looking to lighten up?

3 Responses to “Knew this day would come”

  1. John March 27, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Nut Butter has 4200 calories in a jar?! Holy cowwwww

    • Steph March 27, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Nope… someone was exaggerating in his estimation ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PB Goes Skinny: My First Giveaway! « Upbeat Eats - April 10, 2012

    […] In a nutshell (heh heh), PB2 is just peanuts that have been ground to a fine powder after undergoing a process that removes 85% of their fats & oils. At first, that sounds kind of freaky – aren’t fats & oils good? Yes, they most certainly are, but not really when your nut butter consumption equals roughly 1 jar a week. We don’t know anyone who fits into that category, do we? […]

Leave a Reply

