Frying & Foodie Pen Pals

30 Mar

Sooo I realize it’s already halfway through the day and my blog be lookin’ pretty barren.

I have a good excuse.

Yesterday I stayed in the office late like a good little worker bee. Things were getting a teeens bit goofy as I hit delirium, and my elbow might have made contact with my full water bottle, which may have then toppled onto my laptop keyboard. Liiiiike think waterfall-esque and that’s about the best visual I can give you.

source

Despite my best efforts to salvage my poor laptop…

I turned it on this morning to find the keyboard worked! … But everything looked like it was in Wingdings and/or Chinese.

When I took my damaged machine to my company’s help desk, I bravely said, “I have a computer problem!” A ponytailed man answered, “I can help with that.” The only words that came to me were, “Well… I had a water accident.” To which he retorted, “Oh, sooo it’s broken.”

Annoyed men with ponytails are scary.

TGIF, anyone?

Let’s talk about something way more fun and DEFINITELY tastier.

An enormous thanks to Lindsay for setting this network up! There’s nothing better than meeting new blogger & reader friends, while simultaneously stuffing my face with new foods.

Here are theย complete rulesย in case you’d like to join next month (which I highly recommend.) You do not have to be a blogger to join in — in fact, this month I sent my box to a non-blogger named Andrea!ย With a $15 limit, your task is to assemble a box of goodies – homemade, local favorites, anything you can think of – to your assigned pen pal. A different pen pal will then send YOU a box of your very own – give you and shall receive ๐Ÿ˜‰

This month I received a box from Alexis of Pumped Pumpkin, a newly engaged lady whose blog I now consistently read! And let me tell you, she spoiled me rotten.

I LOVED this box because Alexis sent me lots of new-to-me foods that I didn’t even know existed. She is a very creative, healthy eater (puts me to shame quite honestly), so I loved trying out her picks.

I knew I was in for a treat when I spied this new friend …

PUMPKIN BUTTER!!! Every Fall I basically turn into a pumpkin as I consume any pumpkin-esque food I can get my hands on. I had purchased some pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s last fall season, but while it was delicious, it was a little too sugary for me to feel good about. This version is NATURALLY sweetened with apple cider, and only serves up 5 calories per TBSP. How ’bout them apples?

More amazing treats:

Rawtella, a vegan white chocolate hazelnut spread that touts itself for being “beyond gourmet”. I don’t know what that means, but it tasted fancy and heavenly. I’ve been rationing it – it’s unbelievable on oatmeal!

Savi Seeds:

Cocoa kissed not-nut treats serving up Omega-3’s. Also heavenly atop a bed of oats.

And the most curious of them all:

Coconut Flour! I haven’t had a chance to use it yet, but Alexis sent me some info on the stuff…

Coconut Flour is high in fiber (love), gluten free, grain free, and apparently tastes great! Alexis sent me her favorite pancake recipe, so I will definitely be using the flour to whip those up soon. Perhaps with some pumpkin butter? ๐Ÿ˜€ Also included in my box were some almond & peanut butter packets, which I will forever be a huge fan of.

My first Foodie Pen Pals experience was an absolute blast, definitely participating next month.

What do you guys think I should put into my box for my new pen pal? Any ideas?

See you Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Responses to “Frying & Foodie Pen Pals”

  1. Megan Ag March 30, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    OMG! I have heard of coconut flour and have been really anxious/curious to try it. Let me know if you do and I will of course be a taste-tester ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Steph April 2, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      I definitely will!!

  2. The Hippie Health Nut March 30, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I still haven’t tried pumpkin butter- fun! I use coconut flour all the time for pancakes, muffins, etc. Love it! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pumpedpumpkin March 31, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    So happy you liked everything!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

