Hoppy Easter!

6 Apr

Get it? I know, I know. I’m so clever.

I know Easter seems kind of like a random holiday to some people, but I have a serious warm spot in my heart for it. It was always a pretty special day in my house (Hi Mom!) – yes, we are Catholic, but there’s something about the abundance of flowers, the springy dresses, and soft squishy bunny rabbits that make getting together with family at the dawn of Spring a very special thing indeed.

Oh and let’s not forget … Easter baskets! Duh.

This little guy was waiting for JC upon his return home from work yesterday. Just look at that glinty tinsel grass! Flashy.

I think I have arranged an Easter basket for JC every single year we’ve been together. One Easter, his basket was a Sponge Bob Square Pants bucket. I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to top that one.

Keeping with the SBSP theme, there’s a little Sponge Bob dude hanging out in that there.

Also in the basket: bubbles, gummy bears and …

Kissy Lindt bunnies. Could not resist.

Also included a fun little card …

 Because who doesn’t like a little chick friend climbing upon a mountain o’ colored eggs?

I think John enjoyed his Easter basket surprise, but I am pretty confident I enjoyed putting it together much much more. It’s very true what they say about how doing nice things for your loved one actually just makes your own heart warm 🙂

We will be spending Easter Sunday in the suburbs with John’s family (hi Susan!). As soon as the rumblings of the Easter dinner menu began, I knew it was high time I set off on an easter egg recipe hunt for the perfect addition to the table.

The blogosphere certainly did not provide me with a shortage of ideas. Some delicious inspiration I’ve stumbled upon this week include:

Mmmm! Ultimately I think I will end up baking a tasty springtime bread, but I’m definitely saving the Easter dessert recipes I’ve found for future purposes 🙂

Who’s cookin’ up a storm this Easter? Anyone arranging baskets?

One Response to “Hoppy Easter!”

  1. Susan April 6, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Your baskets are done and ready to be hidden. I’ve got to make sure John’s is very hard to find.

Leave a Reply

