Back to the City

9 Apr

So how “Monday” is this: I had an entire post written up for you guys, and it seems to have disappeared into thin, thin air. Typed it up on my iPad where it must still be hiding out, because I cannot for the life of me retrieve it on the internets. #technologyproblems

All I really wanted to do was tell y’all about my wonderful, relaxing weekend in the suburbs with JC’s family.

And show you some photogs that would be super special if John wasn’t such a squinty eyed man. (Though he is still the most handsome.)

I don’t feel as though I am asking for a lot here.

Our weekend was filled with nice weather & great company, backyard fires with homemade s’mores, and of course some seriously delicious eats.

And also springy flowers.

I always love our trips to the suburbs, where driving in cars is a necessity, and wide open spaces inspire quiet walks along the riverfront.

There is something about the suburbs that speaks to me. As much as I love our busy lives in the big city, the moment we reach the city’s edge I feel myself relax a little. Maybe it’s nostalgia or it could be something like peering into my future; either way, our trips bring me a healthy dose of comfort, and a welcomed chance to slow down.

But as for now, it’s a city life for me 🙂

Back to the city translates to a return to the hustle bustle of Michigan avenue, our walk-everywhere lifestyle, and of course, good eats that never seem to disappoint.

This includes those eats that come out of my very own kitchen, and my most recent creation was no exception. Last week I experimented with Cynthia Sass’s “Pizzalad” recipe, and the finished product equaled culinary perfection.

Not only is this meal well-balanced and outstandingly tasty, but it’s a snap to whip up for a single diner, whether you live alone or have a traveling dude like I do 🙂

Turkey Salad Pizza

{Adapted from S.A.S.S. Yourself Thin, Serves 1}

1/2 large whole wheat pita, sliced lengthwise
3 oz. ground turkey, cooked
1/2 C. no salt added marinara sauce
1/4 C. onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 C. spinach, chopped
1/4 C. snap peas, chopped
1 TBSP olive oil
1 TBSP balsamic vinegar

After halfing your pita pocket lengthwise so it keeps its round shape, pop it in the oven at 450 degrees and let it get crispy, 8-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, saute onion & garlic in the olive oil until fragrant.

Top the pita evenly with marinara sauce, then sprinkle on turkey and add onion/garlic mix. Pop it back in the oven for another 5-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, toss spinach & snap peas in a medium bowl with the balsamic vinegar. When the pita pizza comes out of the oven, top it salad mixture.

Chow down 😀

I loved the flavors this one packs. Tangy vinegar meets mild, slightly sweet marinara. Hope you’ll give it a shot!

What’s your best culinary masterpiece recently?

3 Responses to “Back to the City”

  1. Susan April 9, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Naperville and the riverwalk look beautiful through your eyes. So glad you were able to relax a little bit. We welcome you whenever you can get out here. Love the pizza idea-I think I’ll try to sneak the ground turkey past Chuck sometime instead of sausage and pepperoni. See you this weekend for more fun and adventures.

    • Steph April 9, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I bet he will like it, it tastes like sausage! Can’t wait for the weekend.

  2. blair April 11, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    looks like you guys had a nice easter! that pizzalad looks delicious! I had something similar in Ireland, it was a pizza with the center cut out and a salad in the middle

Leave a Reply

