PB Goes Skinny: My First Giveaway!

10 Apr

Ever wonder what peanut butter would look like on a diet?

PB be looking’ real slim!

This past weekend, my future mother-in-law gifted me a jar of this stuff. My first observation was its powdery consistency – not the sticky stuff we’re all used to.

So what is it? 

In a nutshell (heh heh), PB2 is just peanuts that have been ground to a fine powder after undergoing a process that removes 85% of their fats & oils. At first, that sounds kind of freaky – aren’t fats & oils good? Yes, they most certainly are, but not really when your nut butter consumption equals roughly 1 jar a week. We don’t know anyone who fits into that category, do we?

The amazing part about PB2 is that the extraction process is completely natural – no chemicals or artificial ingredients are used to make this magic dust. All you have to do is add 1 TBSP water for every 2 TBSP PB2 you want to use, mix it up, and enjoy.

While full fat nut butters provide 190 calories and up to 16g fat per serving, PB2 serves up 45 calories & a modest 1.5g of fat for the same amount of nutty goodness.

Let me make something clear: I am not into “diet” foods. That’s the main reason diets like Weight Watchers have scared me off in the past, and why I’ve had to modify the South Beach Diet to avoid heavily processed foods. PB2 isn’t one of them – this alternative simply offers a way to enjoy nut butter without feeling like a house after you accidentally drain a jar 🙂

Some recent eats incorporating my new powdery friend:

Yesterday’s breakfast in a brand new bowl we received from JC’s grandfather as a wedding gift. I simply cooked up 1/3 C of oats, added 1 TBSP chia seeds, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 1/2 C. frozen blueberries & 2 TBSP dry PB2.

Topped with half a crumbly lara bar 😀 It was so good, I had to whip it up again today.

So now that I’ve given you some nutty inspiration … How’s about a giveaway? 

I’d love to send 2 jars of PB2 for one lucky reader to try. I’ll probably send the original flavor and a chocolate one (!!!), which I have not had the pleasure of tasting myself.

How to Enter

This giveaway is open to everyone!

There are 4 ways to enter, and each one will earn you 1 more chance:

1. Leave me a comment letting me know why YOU would be pleased to make PB2’s acquaintance. What would you use it for? {mandatory}

2. Follow me @Upbeat_Eats and leave me a comment to let me know you did! {OPTIONAL}

3. Tweet about it! Example:  “I entered to win PB2 from @Upbeat_Eats & you should too!” {OPTIONAL}

4. Follow Upbeat Eats on Facebook (link is on the right sidebar) {OPTIONAL}

Good luck friends 🙂 My first giveaway, woohoo!

*Guess what? I have not been paid or incentivized to promote this product. I just lurve it and want to share. U.S. residents only, please!

I’ll announce the winner Friday, so you have until Thursday night to enter!

9 Responses to “PB Goes Skinny: My First Giveaway!”

  1. Susan April 10, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Steph, you are amazing. I’m sending this post to Kathy who introduced me to PB2. Someday I’ll show Grandpa the picture of your breakfast in his bowl. I just talked to him this morning and told him how much you loved it. I’ll be the chocolate PB2 might even get John to try it on toast–he used to love Reese’s. Good luck with your giveaway.

  2. MeganAg April 10, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    OMG best first give away ever!!! I have never heard of this stuff but frankly, this is my dream come true. Does this mean it’s ok to eat the entire jar? How good would this be sprinkled into some banana bread batter? I might need to try that — if I win! 😉

  3. Pumpedpumpkin April 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    I would mix it in my chocolate avocado pudding OR mix it in with my casein pudding at night.. (especially the chocolate one I have yet to try it yet!) hmmm I’d also mix it in my pancakes<3 OOOR a nice peanut butter protein frosting.. so many options!

  4. Pumpedpumpkin April 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    I tweeted about it!

  5. Pumpedpumpkin April 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    I follow you via email 😀

  6. The Hippie Health Nut April 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I heard about this stuff a few years ago at the gym- there were girls going on and on about it and I remember thinking how funny it sounded. LOL! It’s so popular now! Congrats on your first giveaway!

  7. Kendalle April 11, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    I would use it on anything I could to replace the crappy peanut butter in Holland. If only they came out with this for almond butter……

  8. sincerelybridget April 11, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    This stuff sounds amazing! I am also a nut/seed butter freak, so I’m sure I could find many uses for this. But I like the oatmeal idea myself since that’s where a lot of my nut butter goes.

  9. Bridget April 11, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    This stuff sounds amazing! I, too, am a nut butter freak so I’m sure I could find many uses. I’m sure oatmeal will be the number 1 though – since that’s where most of my nut butter goes. And I follow you on twitter, I’m @runningcrumbs!

Leave a Reply

