Death Cab for Cutie & Cutie Peppers

17 Apr

Good morning!

So you know that feet-dragging syndrome that seems guaranteed to strike after a weekend out of town, particularly if it was a really awesome weekend? Yep, I was definitely plagued by it yesterday after such an epic shower weekend. Immediately after wedding-related milestone events, you can find me moping around my office — heck, 3 days passed before I believed there could be any joy left in the world after the end of my bachelorette party 😉

Luckily for me, I had tickets for Death Cab for Cutie’s show last night in my hot little hand! Knowing I would be jamming to one of my favorite bands with this gal eased my weekend-ending pain:

After a catch up dinner with Emily at neighborhood go-to Sweetwater where I ate every morsel of my asian tuna salad (ahi tuna = angels’ work), we headed back to my pad to meet friends Megan & Josh before heading just a block down the street to the show.

Perks of living alllll the way downtown.

I had never been inside the Chicago Theater before – it proved to be an excellent venue. It boasted the vintage detail, tall balconies and red carpet I was expecting, but I was surprised (and pleased) by its small size. Our seats were perched near the tippy top of the house, yet it didn’t feel as though we had to climb for 8 years to get there. And the view was still decent.

I was first introduced to Death Cab for Cutie in 2004 – it’s admittedly bizarre that I remember exactly where I was when I first heard them, but I do. I was browsing my favorite store at the time, American Eagle (oh yeahhh), looking for an outfit to go on my very first date.  I heard the song “Title & Registration”, listened to some of the lyrics, and immediately googled them upon returning home. It was love & magic from that day forward 🙂

I hadn’t seen the band in a long time – I’ve lost track, but I think it was before college – and I was blown away by how amazing lead singer Ben Gibbard sounded. He’s definitely been around the block since I stood shoulder to shoulder with other 18 year-olds and jumped up and down to their latest jams 😉

Before the show I felt apprehensive because I’m not super familiar with their latest album. I’m thrilled to report that most of what they played was from back in the day – they played an eclectic mix ranging from 1999 to present day. Very impressive.

What is not so impressive and also kind of embarrassing is that I am the person who does this at concerts for fun:

Most of the jams were those I knew by heart – so I rocked out 😀 Magik*Magik Orchestra accompanied them, and it was a magical touch indeed.

Speaking of cuties (not so much death cabs), let’s chat about these petite pepper situations, shall we?

{Not the smoothest transition. Just go with it, because there are realll good.}

I love a nice n’ easy stuffed pepper – this one boasts simple ingredients, tastes fab, and serves as one complete meal in a colorful little shell.

Turkey & Barley Stuffed Peppers

{serves 2}

2 red, orange or yellow peppers, tops lopped off and insides removed
6 oz. ground turkey, cooked
1/2 C. spinach, chopped
1/2 C. onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 C. cooked barley
2 TBSP olive oil

Arrange the empty pepper cups on a baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes at 450 degrees.

Meanwhile, saute onions & garlic in olive oil until fragrant. Add spinach. Remove from heat and add barley & cooked turkey.

When the peppers come out, stuff ’em up with the mix. Bake for another 5-8 minutes & enjoy!

*

Has anyone been to any awesome concerts lately? Have a fantastic Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

