Salad is Your Friend

24 Apr

This weekend in my neck of the woods, the world was taken over by every wedding detail under the sun. My brain cannot comprehend sharing all of this in an orderly way at this time, so to you eager people I say, stay with me. Trust.

Until then, let’s talk about a little something happening Friday. Part 2 of a series I call, “Gown Fittings: A Collection of Adventures.” That’s because I have four of them. Why is a small Russian lady with magic hands putting me through this? Basically because my entire dress has to be taken apart, hemmed, taken in, and then patched back together. It’s like a giant lacey “Humpty Dumpty”, with what I hope will be a happier ending.

Because the wedding is still a little more than 6 weeks away, and because I dove into fitness and have already invested lots of mindful eating, it’s important that I remind myself that champagne is not a food group for the next month and a half so as not to undo all the hard work.

For my bridely body needs, I turn to my faithful friend, the salad.

Now before we go any further, I want to call out the elephant lurking in the room. Salad gets kind of a bad rap. Think about it: plenty of folks slap some questionably wilty iceberg lettuce into a bowl, squirt on some fat free ranch dressing and call it lunch. If you’re lucky you might get some shreddy carrots or some dried out chicken chunks.

To this I say: Homie don’t play like that.

That is not, in fact, a proper salad. What I just defined is a recipe for starvation and sorrow.

I’m about to deliver the newsflash of the century. Are you ready? Salads are not just for dieters, people. 

Do you know how many delicious ingredients can be found in a true, legitimate, fancy lady salad? Think grains, fruits, beans, properly seasoned meats – simply put, things that make your tastebuds say, “Dear Salad, I dig your new look.”

Even if you are not getting married soon, attending any weddings or frankly do not care about this nuptial conversation, there is room in your life for a salad that eats like a real meal. And with summer drawing ever nearer, don’t pretend you didn’t notice your bathing suit judging you from the bottom of your dresser.

This post on The Everygirl inspired me to challenge myself to make three brand new homemade salads this week.

I plan to share my experiences & tweaks made for all three. I’ll also be sure to sprinkle in some sage salad advice – You are welcome.

Salad #1: Strawberry, Walnut & Feta Salad

{Serves 2}

Salad:

3 C. Spinach, Chopped
1 C. strawberries, sliced
1/2 C. chopped walnuts
1/2 C. crumbled feta cheese (I used mediterranean herb variety)

Dressing:
2/3 C. sliced strawberries
1/4 C. balsamic vinegar
1 clove garlic
1 tsp dried thyme

Divide salad ingredients between 2 bowls.

For the dressing, combine all in a magic bullet or food processor and blend. Drizzle 2 TBSP of the dressing over each salad.

Meet your new salad friend.

I really enjoyed this one. Salty feta mingling with sweet strawberries, some crunch provided by the chopped walnuts, all topped off with a little bit of tang from the balsamic based dressing, I would definitely whip up this snappy salad again.

Salad success.

Leave a Reply

