A Lazy Weekend & Foodie Pen Pals

30 Apr

Ohh dear Monday, we meet again. This week I’m going to try to be a little kinder to Monday than usual, because the sooner Monday passes, the sooner a fun weekend begins: One of my bridesmaids, Emily, is coming to town!

This weekend was a hodgepodge and a little different than usual because JC shipped off to Vegas for a weekend of shenanigans with some guy friends. Some highlights:

Bridesmaid Kate came with me to my second dress fitting, and we did a little reception decor damage I plan to reveal in full tomorrow 🙂

A solo, enormous healthy dinner, well-deserved after a tough Friday workout

12.5 hours of sleep (!!!). After a 16 & Pregnant marathon (Don’t wait for me to apologize because I will not), I proceeded to sleep until 1:30 in the afternoon and in the process scare the living daylights out of my mom and fiancé. I told them I had been watching “The First 48” the evening before, so thoughts of mysterious murders and lurking strangers were running wild through their minds.

Turns out planning a wedding is actually exhausting.

Once I decided to rejoin the world, I whipped up a feast I’ve been meaning to try for a long time.

A GIANT coconut flour pancake, as inspired by my former Foodie Pen Pal Alexis of Pumped Pumpkin!

Per her instructions, I simply mixed 2 TBSP coconut flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 stevia packet, a dash of cinnamon & pinch of salt. In a separate bowl, I whisked 3/4 C. egg whites, and then added them to my dry ingredients. I dumped the batter into a skillet, flipped – then, because I had some on hand, I added shredded coconut before the batter had completely firmed up. Finally I topped my unicake with chocolate PB2!

Coconut flour is an amazing new addition to my pantry – grain free, gluten free, & high in fiber. My pancake had an interesting texture – a bit different than the typical doughy stuff – it more resembled an omelet, with just a bit more firmness to it. It’s amazing how many new doors have been opened to me by participating in Foodie Pen Pals!

How’s that for a segue?

An enormous thanks to Lindsay for setting this network up! There’s nothing better than meeting new blogger & reader friends, while simultaneously stuffing my face with new foods.

Here are the complete rules in case you’d like to join next month (which I highly recommend.) You do not have to be a blogger to join in. With a $15 limit, your task is to assemble a box of goodies – homemade, local favorites, anything you can think of – to your assigned pen pal. A different pen pal will then send YOU a box of your very own – give you and shall receive ;-)

I sent a box of goodies to a new-to-me blogger friend, Brittany. Go check her out at Pressing On!

As for me, I received a pretty epic assortment from Bethany over at Loves to (Nu)tella Story.

Perhaps my favorite personal touch was Bethany’s handwritten letter, detailing the contents of my care package. Isn’t her penmanship something to write home about?

I loved my eclectic box filled with goodies ranging from snackable almond clusters to delicious chocolate chunk luna bars & chocolate cherry kasha bars to trusty Justin’s almond butter packets. Bethany’s picks were thrown immediately into the lunch box that comes with me to work every day because for me, having smart snacks available at arms length is key to keeping my hand out of the proverbial work cookie jar.

One new-to-me item that I could NOT trust myself to keep in my lunch box:

Dark chocolate covered acai, sweetened with blueberry juice. Holy. Think raisinets meeting fruit snacks in one dangerously tantalizing dark chocolate shell. I LOVED these.

Thanks for the generous package, Bethany!

That’s it for today. Wedding things & a tasty recipe to come later this week! 🙂

2 Responses to “A Lazy Weekend & Foodie Pen Pals”

  1. Bethany Imondi April 30, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    I’m so glad you enjoyed everything!

    • Steph May 1, 2012 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you again Bethany!

Leave a Reply

