Sunshine & Granola

3 May

Excuse my brevity, but as you might have read earlier in the week …

I have a special guest in town for the weekend!

Emily is one of my very dearest friends, and also happens to be a bridesmaid in my wedding (#36days.)

Whenever Em comes to visit me from Tucson, I always tease her by proclaiming that she has a way of bringing a tiny slice of the hot desert sun with her. After all, when she attended my bachelorette party in March, temperatures skyrocketed towards 80 degrees (March in Chicago, people!)

Once again she was not messing around with this visit, as midweek sunshine managed to warm up my week.

We enjoyed some vino, spiced almonds, and Chia Cookie Dough Dip with apples a la rooftop to take in the heat. It’s starting to look a little something like summer.

With warmer weather around the corner, spending more time outside enjoying the sunshine takes priority – sometimes outdoor recess even trumps meal planning, which makes healthy living fall by the wayside pretty easily.

Snack bars such as Lara bars & Luna bars make the on-the-go fuel thing a little bit easier, but for me I almost always prefer a homemade option. Because I am a strong advocate for the best of both worlds, I thought I would share this simple & delicious recipe for homemade granola bars I tried out!

Simply Sweet Homemade Granola Bars

{Recipe from Dashing Dish}

3 C. Cereal of your choice – Choose 3 different cereals! I chose whole grain varieties – Uncle Sam, Whole Wheat Cornflakes, Berry Muesli
1 C. rolled oats
1/2 C. honey
1/4 C. nut butter (or PB2!)
1/4 C. Shredded Coconut
2 TBSP Chocolate Chips (dark chocolate)
1 packet stevia (or 1 TSP)
pinch of salt & cinnamon

In a medium bowl, mix your three types of cereal with the oats and crush them up with your hands.

Next, add honey & nut butter – mix well.

Add in shredded coconut, stevia, salt, cinnamon & chocolate chips until all are well incorporated.

Spray a 9×13 glass baking dish and preheat the oven to 375 degrees. After adding the granola mix to the baking dish, use a spatula to cut your bars into 8-12 slices.

Pop in the oven and bake for 25 minutes. If you want chewier granola bars, remove and let them cool on the counter. For a crunchier variety, turn off the oven and let the bars sit inside for another 20 minutes!

& chow down. 🙂

Anybody else have a killer bar recipe I can try? Snacks on snacks.

Leave a Reply

