Benched (And OK with it)

16 May

Morning, Upbeat Eaters!

How’s everyone feeling out there?

Not to be a complete Debbie Downer … but I’m personally feeling a smidge under the weather. I don’t know about anyone else, but for me, a head cold or bout of fever is one thing.

A stomach bug, on the other hand, is a completely different beast. You see, I’m pretty accustomed to an iron stomach; it takes a lot to get me green around the gills. Because of this, the slightest bout of nausea is enough to send me sinking into self-pity and hypochondria.

I know I’m really marketing myself as fun to hang out with right now.

But, if you know me, you know how I love to dance. Every Tuesday I haul myself to the west part of town for my all-time favorite Hip Hop class, and truthfully it typically takes a natural disaster or a Barack Obama caravan through Chicago to bench me.

But yesterday, after taking 3 steps in my apartment before faceplanting into my bed, I knew Tuesday dance just wasn’t in the cards. And I felt guilty about that. Dance has evolved into such a part of my routine, I almost feel responsible to it or somehow obligated to participate. I know many of my friends in the healthy living community might feel the same way about running or yoga.

I guess I just wanted to use the personal soap box that is my blog to say, it’s okay for us to give ourselves a pass. It’s great that I’ve found something I love to partake in (and kind of obsess over), but if I’m able to crash out at 4:30pm while the construction crew next door builds a skyscraper (true story), I need to choose to take care of myself.

And to be at peace with that.

pin

Have you taken the time to focus on simply breathing today? Maybe taken a moment to say thank you (even though rolling out of bed on a Wednesday does not ever always feel like an opportunity for gratitude?)

{On an unrelated note: HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my best friend & maid of Honor, Kelly!!! Have an amazing day, MOHK!}

Leave a Reply

