Workout Flop + Granola Bar GIVEAWAY!

19 Jun

Hey everybody! So the good news first: I survived my first day back to reality after 2 weeks of marital frolicking and party time. It sort of felt like the first day of school. I woke up and cooked myself a big ambitious breakfast. I didn’t know what to do with my hands. And I currently have possession of about 3/4 of my normal longterm memory.

The bad news: I am tres rusty at being a normal person. Remember yesterday when I told you guys our first married cooking experience involved a lot of fumbling and rookie kitchen mistakes? I probably should have guessed this amateur hour would translate into amateur twenty-four hours.

Behold. Once again, I got all ambitious with some rather… extravagant… workout plans.

That’s right. I dusted off the ol’ Speedo (circa 2002 model), ย donned the chic swim cap and trendy goggles. Ready to make some waves, I headed to my gym only to find the pool is out of service. What’s that you say, 17 year old manboy working the desk? Pool is out of service for a week and a half?!!

The nerve. I headed home dejected with my spiffy pool bag, insisting on a treadmill run in my small apartment building gym despite the fact that I was exhausted from a long hard day of checking email. What a surprise, all treadmills were taken.

The moral of this story? Some days, a normal routine is plenty workout for one day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Onto more fun stuff …

TODAY’S GIVEAWAY!

Who’s ready for … granola & chocolate?!

I thought you might say that.

A couple of weeks ago, Special K contacted me about their first ever granola bars. I read “high fiber” & “chocolate” before my fingers did the walking for me – I was all in.

I got to mow down on Dark Chocolate & Chocolatey Peanut Butter varieties.

I LOVE the nutritional stats on these bad boys: at only 110 calories & 3g fat a bar, these snacks weigh in a good bit skinnier than many bars out there. I’m really into the fact that they pack 4g fiber & 4g protein to boot.

I would be even crazier for these bars if they incorporated even more natural ingredients, but for a quick snack in a pinch without breaking the calorie bank these bars are very satisfying, complements to the protein & fiber components!

The best news of all: Special K would love to send a box of each flavor to one of YOU! Try ’em for yourselves and see what you think!

There are a few ways to enter. You can simply choose one method, or go for all 4 for more chances!

1. Comment on this post and tell me what you think makes a baller granola bar.

2. Tweet this giveaway! Something along the lines of “Check out @Upbeat_Eats giveaway today, @SpecialKUS granola bars! YUM”

3. Like Special K on Facebook

4. Like Upbeat Eats on Facebook

You have until Friday (June 22) to enter! Good luck, hungry friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

16 Responses to “Workout Flop + Granola Bar GIVEAWAY!”

  1. Mary June 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    You deserve an A for effort!! I like a granola bar that is low in sugar, high in fiber and protein…pretty much what you said!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Ray June 20, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Protein & fiber make a great granola bar!

  3. Ray June 20, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    I like Special K on FB

  4. Ray June 20, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I like you on FB too – thanks!

    • Steph June 20, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      Awesome – thanks!! Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Georgiana June 20, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Protein is a fabulous addition as well as vitamins and minerals too to make it nutritious!

  6. Georgiana June 20, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I like Special K on Facebook too – thanks for the yummy giveaway!

    • Steph June 20, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      Awesome – thanks for entering! Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Annie Truax June 20, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    For me I like a compact and discreet granola bar. I’ve been jet-setting to some out-of-state weddings as of late, and fellow travelers tend to you look at you strangely when you break out a baggie of granola + berries to top your Chobani and spoon from home…

  8. Renata June 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    High in protein, fiber, vitamins and minerals makes a granola snack bar rise above the crowd!

  9. Renata June 20, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I like Special K on Facebook

  10. Renata June 20, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    I tweeted your giveaway link

  11. barrandtable June 21, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I tweeted about the giveaway! https://twitter.com/beermeamartini/status/215800279206084609

  12. barrandtable June 21, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    I like Upbeat Eats and Special K on facebook.

  13. Caitlin June 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Love soft granola bars that have great flavor and protein!

  14. Caitlin June 21, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    Tweeted about your giveaway! Cait58tiu

Leave a Reply

