Homemade Fiesta

22 Jun

Good morning & HAPPY FRIDA Y to all of you Upbeat Eaters! This Friday feels particularly sweet; probably has something to do with the epicly long dragging week we just put behind us.

After my sparkly Wednesday night, I definitely paid the price yesterday. I was in the bed by 9pm, but not before enjoying a spicy feast at home with JC!

Ole!

Fish tacos with homemade guac, side of broiled purple asparagus (amazing & in season right now!) and mushrooms.

We baked the sliced cod after tossing it in olive oil and some taco seasoning I had lying around.

An extra ripe avocado was easily mashed up for guacamole – added in some chopped onion, 1 TBSP lime juice, splash of tomatillo salsa, dash of salt & pepper.

That creepy little lump peeking out amidst the guac blanket is the avocado pit – I always keep it in my guac to ward off as much browning as I can. It helps šŸ™‚

We wolfed our entrees down with some chips & salsa on the side. A perfect Thursday night fiesta, before my head started hitting the table as I nodded off.

Also, thanks to everyone who entered my Special K granola bars giveaway!

The winner, by random number generator …

Ā 

is…

Georgiana! Congrats!! Please send me your mailing address (upbeateatsblog at gmail dot com) so the superstars over at Special K can get your goods a’shippin’.

I’m off to Georgia this weekend – my best guy friend from high school is tying the knot. It’s a Southern Affair, and I can’t wait to show off my getup. Y’all will be impressed now, ya hear?

And to keep all of the wedding fun going, I’ll be posting a really fun Save the Date How-to on Monday, detailing the crafty approach I took for my own STDs (awkward). I’m still waiting for photos from our photographer, but soon a full wedding recap will be upon you!

Suspense.

2 Responses to “Homemade Fiesta”

  1. Marcia Cappuccilli June 22, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    I get a thrill when I see a NEW Upbeat Eats! In my inbox! Many thanks to your mother-in -law for bringing this all to my attention and telling me to sign up! Aunt Marcia

    • Steph June 25, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

      Thank you for reading!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

