Balls of Glory

27 Jun

You read that correctly.

Buckle up for ballz!

When it comes to snacking, I think we can all agree on one thing: it rocks. As a frequent snacker (twice daily on most days), I am the authority on this subject.

But even though I’ll stick by snacking’s side through thick & thin, this favorite pastime does not come without a set of parameters I follow for myself.

I think “snacking” has morphed into something of a dirty word; you hear “snack”, and you might think of Cheetos, Hostess products, whatever’s in the fridge at work, and other such dirty temptations that you should keep at arm’s length. To me, I’d rather label this type of habit “mindless eating”.

For me, snacking is a calculated decision – it means having a plan for what I will do when hunger strikes to keep myself from diving into my purse for coins for the vending machine at 3 o’clock pm. At meal times I tend to eat a small enough portion that I simply feel satisfied – because of this, my stomach normally grumbles again in 3-5 hours. It’s important to have a plan of attack when hunger strikes.

{Today’s snack: Banana slices atop a pillowy bed of Greek Yogurt.}

Because it’s worth it to me to strategically snack, this often means waking up extra early to prepare my work day arsenal of nourishment.

Today, it meant making Protein Balls of Glory.

These are super simple, require no baking, and taste like a healthy cookie dough heaven.

Simply add the following into a food processor:

  • 1/4 C. Vanilla Protein Powder
  •  1/4 C. shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 C. Almond butter
  • 2 T 100% pure maple syrup
  • 2 T chia seeds
  • splash almond or coconut milk
  • hefty dash of cinnamon
Once you have a nice sticky dough, roll ’em up!

I like to stick mine into the freezer for 20-30 minutes just to firm ’em up. After that, they’ll chill in the fridge until I’m ready to demolish.

For me, these balls act like a healthy, homemade alternative to a processed granola bar – all natural ingredients, substantial serving of protein & healthy fat, and tastes like that vending machine decadence without the calorie bomb and sugar hangover.

Do you strategically snack? What are your favorites?

{Also – HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my dear Salt, KENNYG!!! Love you!}

3 Responses to “Balls of Glory”

  1. Taylor B. June 27, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Oh boy, I think I will definitely have to try making these! I’ve always kind of ignored recipes that involved using a food processor because up until very recently, I didn’t own one! There is a WHOLE NEW WORLD of possibilities now that I do… thanks for the recipe 🙂

    • Steph June 27, 2012 at 11:11 am #

      Just got mine too – it’s insane!

  2. BarrAndTable June 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Oh my gracious I need to make these now!

Leave a Reply

