South Beach Shepherd’s Party

10 Jul

Judging by the overwhelming presence of Monday grumblings on someecards, I am guessing I am not the only person struggling hard to accept that this is, in fact, reality, where people work 5 days a week, 40+ hours in said week.

Sigh. Can’t every work week be home to an American holiday revolving around barbecues, beer, swimming & playing?

On second thought, if any of you celebrated America’s birthday on a level even remotely close to mine, your jeans are probably grateful that every week is much more… healthful.

I’ve been married for a month now (!!!), and I will continue to claim that I have the right to celebrate my recent nuptials like a fool for at least 90 days. But because I’ve enjoyed a few too many slices of desserts bearing American flags & indulged in one too many rounds of cup flipping games over the past month, it’s time for me pump the brakes before I lose sight of all I’ve worked for in the months leading up to my wedding.

After all, a healthy balance means consistency – something I still struggle with regularly. Heading back to the basics usually lends me a starting point, and for me, the South Beach Diet is typically a pretty solid starting point for kicking creepy cravings to the curb and resetting my palate all together.

Before I even unpacked most of my home, I dragged myself (and a very patient JC) to Whole Foods to insure the week got off on the right foot. I wanted to have a well-rounded week, and I knew just the tool I would call upon.

My mom got me this sassy pistachio colored KitchenAid mixer as a shower gift, and I’ve been chomping at the bit to pledge into the global class of electric mixer lovers.

With my newly acquired kitchen weaponry, I whipped up a healthy casserole I can feast on for most of the week.

I know what you’re thinking: Healthy casserole? Is that a thing? Just wait until I tell you that it’s actually shepherd’s pie, a classic calorie bomb.

Stay with me!

I tweaked this very lightened up version from South Beach Diet’s newer book, Supercharged. All natural ingredients, and as mashed cauliflower replaces traditional buttery mashed potatoes the dish quickly becomes a reasonable meal. But don’t fret: there’s nothing “diet” about bubbly cheese, juicy meat & chewy edamame in every bite!

{Adapted from South Beach Supercharged – 4 delicious servings}

1 tablespoon EVOO
1 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb extra lean ground beef (turkey is tasty too if you don’t swing that way)
2 C. shelled edamame
1/2 C. low sodium beef broth
3 teaspoons worcestershire sauce
16 oz. frozen cauliflower
2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
1 egg yolk
pinch sea salt
1/2 C. Mexican blend shredded cheese

In a large saucepan, bring water to a boil – add cauliflower and cook until soft, 10-15 minutes. Transfer to a large mixing bowl or food processor.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions & garlic and cook until fragrant, 5 minutes or so. Add beef and cook until browned through.

Add edamame, beef broth & worcestershire sauce; cook 3 minutes more. Remove from heat & add the mixture to a lightly sprayed 2 quart casserole dish. Set aside.

Add greek yogurt, egg yolk and sea salt to cauliflower. Mix or blend until smooth, with a consistency resembling that of lip smackin’ calorie packin’ mashed taters. Carefully & evenly spread cauliflower cloud over the beef mixture and sprinkle with cheese. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve al fresco with a side of vino, if your little heart desires the finer things in life.

 

How do you get back on track after an indulgent holiday? Any favorite lightened up make-ahead meals out there?

Leave a Reply

