Spiced Salmon with Cool Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

27 Sep

You guys have been through the ringer; you bore with me during my finger surgery saga.

Now comes your sweet and savory reward.

Unless you count build-your-own-frozen yogurt or tossing various items of nutritional value into a blender and pressing “liquefy”, my kitchen hasn’t exactly been a factory pumping out delicious nutritious contents as of late. My left ring finger still resembles an overstuffed lumpy caterpillar wrapped in a gnarly cocoon so I imagine that, until a new butterfly of a finger emerges, my kitchen will remain a barren memory of meals past.

Thank God for frozen yogurt.

This recipe is an oldie but goodie. I stumbled upon it during my first few months out of college, when I had already decided I wanted to live a healthy lifestyle but hadn’t necessarily yet worked out the fact that the best version of healthy for me included as few fake foods as I could get my hands on. I remember the amazement I felt at how simple the recipe was — how could a dish so easy with so few ingredients taste so good?

The original recipe recommends serving over whole wheat orzo which I also endorse, but my version kicks it into salad-gear.

{Adapted from Self Magazine – Serves 4}

4 salmon filets (1 lb salmon cut into 4 pieces)
2 tsp EVOO
1/2 tsp sugar (I use stevia instead)
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp salt

For the sauce:
1/2 C. 2% Greek yogurt
1 large cucumber
1 scallion, finely chopped
3 TBSP fresh minced parsley
1 tsp fresh lemon juice

In a small bowl, combine sugar/stevia, cumin, pepper and salt. Rub the salmon filets with olive oil, then rub spice mixture on top. You can also use a brush if you’re less grizzly than I am. Refrigerate for 10-20 mins.

Preheat the broiler. Combine yogurt, finely chopped cucumber, scallion, parsley, lemon juice and a little pinch of salt in a bowl.

Broil salmon until it is barely opaque at the center, 7-10 minutes.

Serve over spinach dressed in olive oil & balsamic – top the salmon with the yogurt sauce.

How easy was that? This will forever stand as one of my go-to, simple yet scrumptious staples.

For the peanut gallery: 

Do you cook with fish very often? What’s your favorite way to prepare?

2 Responses to “Spiced Salmon with Cool Cucumber Yogurt Sauce”

  1. trixfred30 September 27, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    We like savoury rice with salmon flaked into it. Actually come to think of it salmon is a staple in our house!

Leave a Reply

