Menu Monday: Sugar Rush

1 Oct

Miss me over the weekend? Oh sorry guys. I’ve just been a little busy hanging with Michelle.

Pretty epic wedding photobooth corner.

This weekend we traveled to Columbia, SC, where we saw the sights

{South Carolina’s state capitol building}

And even managed to squeeze in a broken-finger-burn session

Lunging around the state capitol. Casual.

A fabulous weekend was had by all, but the weekend (and last week serving time as a gimp) didn’t exactly revolve around the high produce, low sugar diet I strive for.

When I feel this way, I’ve learned over the years that the key is to avoid panicking and/or guilt, emotions that come naturally in the wake of sugar hangover.

The fact of the matter is that today marks a new day, a new week, AND a new month, and by the looks of it so far, seems like all good things lie ahead.

First October sunrise.

I think I’ll outline my steps to curbing sugar cravings later in the week, but I will say one of the very first steps is to make a plan.

Menu items this week:

  • Monday: Trader Joe’s chili for lunch with spinach salad, Italian vegetable salad during the Bears game tonight
  • Tuesday: spinach salad with lentils, slaw vegetables, onion & veggie burger patty drizzled with balsamic, tofu stir fry for dinner
  • Wed: leftover stir fry for lunch, tuna salad (salsa instead of mayo) over spinach + lentil salad for dinner
  • Thursday: leftover salad for lunch, grilled veggie burger patty + cauliflower mashed “potatoes” for dinner
  • Friday: leftovers for lunch, parents in town on Friday so unplanned dinner
  • Breakfasts: 1 egg + veggie juice
  • Snacks (I’ll have a morning & afternoon snack this week): cheesestick, greek yogurts, hummus + veggie dippers

I almost always create a week’s menu on Sundays, otherwise I’d probably just eat almond butter and Chipotle 3 times a day every day. I have to admit, I’m not nearly as diligent with my workout “menu” — I usually fly by the seat of my pants, which shockingly translates into working out about half as much as I intend.

Not this week! I know with the broken finger situation I’ll be even less motivated than usual, and I’ll have to get creative. On this week’s agenda: a new hip hop DVD I was given at FitBloggin, trying a new hip hop class near my apartment (!!), making up a finger-less boot camp circuit, and a couple of elliptical sessions.

Bring it, October!

For the peanut gallery: Do you make a plan for the week’s menu items or do you make it up as you go?

3 Responses to “Menu Monday: Sugar Rush”

  1. Carli October 1, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    You are a life saver! I have tuna and I wanted to do something with it, but I have given up dairy and mayo is fattening. Salsa! Yeah, I have that. Hugs for answering the question I’ve had all week. 🙂

    • Steph @ Upbeat Eats October 1, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Glad I could help! I love salsa. Adding it to tuna is delicious, and works beautifully on a salad. Sometimes I don’t even need extra dressing that way!

  2. Casey (A Healthy Spin) October 1, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Haha! I love that picture. I try to plan out my meals. I’m kind of boring though. Lots of veggies…my fridge looks like a salad bar. 🙂 I think I could live on avocados 3x a week, similar to your almond butter. Yum-o!

Leave a Reply

