Easy Tofu Stir Fry

4 Oct

Earlier this week, I saw the bone & joint doctor who desecrated my broken finger with pins during my surgery last week. As they unwrapped the finger to assess the damage, this was the first time I laid eyes upon the pinned up appendage.

I’ll give it to you straight: it really wasn’t pretty. I did take some pictures, but considering I tend to post around the breakfast hour I’ll spare you just this once.

Anyway, short of peddling my pin photos to some medical fetish website, I’m not entirely sure why I chose to document this. I kind of had to make myself stop before I felt too faint.

The good news is things appear to be healing up pretty well, and my finger is “relatively straight” according to my 23 year old babysitter resident doctor.

I’ve also downsized in terms of the ridiculous dressing I have to deal with. I’ve officially graduated out of sling, and have even restored some mobility in the finger since they decided to wrap about half of it. This is awesome, considering I had basically lost full use of my hand before due to how much gauze and other junk I was dealing with.

Bottom line: things are going OK. It’s still pretty much impossible to exercise without some severe throbbing kicking in around minute 15 (I know, poor me.) I have to see the big girl bone doctor next week and we’ll find out more.

Yes Jim, we sure can.

If you saw my menu on Monday, I included a tofu stir fry. Truth is, while I don’t eat a ton of tofu, I actually really enjoy it. Since the jury is still out on soy I try to eat it sparingly, but I feel like it gets a bad wrap (“it’s squishy”, “it’s boring”, etc.) In reality it’s super easy to prepare, and when squeezed dry really takes on the flavors of any dish.

I chose to tackle this dish this week as I ease myself back into kitchen adventuring. Clearly the finger is still far from healed, so I didn’t want to bite off more than I could chew. This recipe takes about 15 minutes to whip up, maybe 20 if you’re not very good with a knife and/or only have 8 mobile fingers.

Hope you’ll give it a try!

{Serves 4}

1 (1lb) block organic, extra firm tofu (I pick mine up at Trader Joe’s)
2 bags stir fry vegetables** (again, Trader Joe for President 2012)
1/3 C. minced onions
2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil
1/2 C. apple cider vinegar
1/2 C. Soyaki sauce (or soy sauce, or teriyaki sauce)
a few shakes ground pepper & garlic

Using a paper towel, squeeze as much liquid from tofu block as possible. This insures it will pick up more juices & flavors from the dish. Cut block into 4 strips, then chop into bite-size strips. Place the cut tofu pieces into a bowl and bathe in apple cider vinegar & Soyaki sauce. Place in refrigerator 10-20 mins.

Heat EVOO over medium high heat; add veggies and cook until thawed. Add spices.

Finally, add tofu & all remaining marinade. Stir well. Whip out chopsticks & serve over brown rice, if you like!

So easy, a gimp can do it.

**Check the ingredients included in your stir fry vegetables – ONLY veggies should be listed. Do not choose a brand including any frankenfoods, extra oils, etc. If you can’t find a bag that’s up to snuff, add snap peas, Chinese water chestnuts, carrots, and bean sprouts, about 4 cups total.

Leave a Reply

