Menu Monday: Zombie Hunting

22 Oct

Here’s a confession.

When I posted last week’s Menu Monday, I had every intention to diligently stick to the plans. That’s half the reason Menu Monday is a thing — so I’m forced to get my act together on a Sunday and fight the urge to wing it.

Usually that works out for me, but last week I threw all caution to the wind. It was a social week – that means lots of friend face time, but also many beverages and too few opportunities to properly prep my lunches. I ate pumpkin oats for dinner a few too many times as well, while we’re being honest. Probably not a coincidence that I was hiding from the internets last week …

But if this morning’s new breakfast creation is any indication of how this week will go, I think I’m on the right track.

I mixed 2% Greek yogurt with 2 TBSP pumpkin puree & stevia (alright fine and pumpkin cream cheese – I DIE), topped that mixture with torn up dried apple slices, almond butter, pumpkin butter and a smattering of pumpkin pie spice.

+ Zombie tea on the side. It’s really just a very light tea with almond milk, but I’ve been feasting on too much television and frankly I’m checking every corner of my life for a Zombie apocalypse.

(T Dog is such an underrated Walking Dead dude. Anybody else keep forgetting he’s alive?)

Onto the good stuff. This week’s Menu Monday is a little funky because I typically plan each night’s menu and just make enough to bring to work next day. That backfired miserably last week (a lot of it has to do with my broken finger and the fact that knife wielding is less than safe. I literally set the kitchen on fire this weekend.) This week I’m rolling with simple concoctions to insure I’m not biting off more than I can chew.

All I can think about are zombies here…

  • Dinners most nights: huge green smoothies (spinach, frozen blueberries, banana, greek yogurt, almond butter)
  • One “project” dinner: spaghetti squash with roasted butternut squash, ground turkey, cheese
  • Lunches: packed full of veggies salads (spinach, chopped bell pepper, chopped onion, crumbled feta, black beans, apple chicken sausage )
  • Snacks: pumpkin amazeballs (get the recipe from the Fitnessista)

Weekly prep also lightened the gimpy load – last night I chopped all salad veggies, cut the sausages into rounds and sautéed and made amazeballs.

Since I also only attended maybe 2 out of my 5 planned workouts, I’m setting a more serious agenda for that as well.

  • Monday: 20 minute interval run
  • Tuesday: hip hop class
  • Wednesday: OFF
  • Thursday: 20 minute interval run
  • Friday: Pilates
  • Saturday: club remix class
  • Sunday: OFF

Here’s to a happy, well-planned, zombie-free week!

Leave a Reply

