Menu Monday: Turning into a Turkey

5 Nov

This weekend marked the arrival of a favorite holiday in our little family’s household.

Friendsgiving!!!!

We’ve stuffed large birds and our closest friends’ bellies for 3 years running now – not to toot my own horn here, but I think this year was crowned the most successful showing yet. More to show off (along with tips for your own feasts this year!) on Thursday!

Much manual labor and kitchen slaving was poured into the production of a 24 lb turkey feast, but to host this giving of thanks among friends does not come without its distinct benefits.

I’m talking leftovers. Lots. And lots. Of leftovers. Here’s how I’m re-purposing much of them this #MenuMonday!

  • Last night: leftover turkey (at this point my insides are beginning to take on the shape of a turkey) + brussels sprouts roasted with onion and some coconut oil (okok and some sweet potato casserole)
  • Today: Out to dinner for work, OR a backup salad I snagged at Trader Joe’s in case
  • Tuesday: Stir fry with leeks, chestnuts, baby broccoli and spicy sausage – wintery!
  • Wednesday: Italian Acorn Squash with – you guessed it – TURKEY
  • Thursday: Dinner with a girlfriend
  • Friday: Omelet/fridge clean out
  • Breakfasts: Paleo pumpkin bars (will share recipe if it turns out well!), eggs, vegetable juice
  • Snacks: Greek yogurt + plums, bananas and oranges

My pins come out of my maimed finger on Tuesday, and after Friendsgiving this weekend, I’m feeling inspired to pick up a knife again (and not kill someone, burn down the house or drown my iPhone due to broken finger clumsiness.)

So, to review, my goals for the week are as follows:

  • Don’t die from Tryptophan over-consumption
  • Don’t burn the house down or otherwise ruin everything with my gimp finger as I attempt to cook again
  • Eat well after a Friendsgiving feast (some tips, tricks and ideas coming later this week!)
  • Get at least 3 runs in – no more fitness excuses now that I’ll be living pin-free!

Dream big. What are you trying to accomplish this week? Anyone meal plan yet? Never too late!

Leave a Reply

